Wednesday, 22 July 2015

Review: I need a hero by Emma Bennet

Book cover

A feel-good book about how searching for the perfect man can blind you to the good guy next door!

A lovely summer romance read
Romance writer Bronte Huntington has vowed she will never settle for anything less than ‘the one.’ When pleasant red-haired dentist Ryan moves in next door he just doesn't fit the bill. They have plenty in common but Bronte wants nothing more than friendship with him.

Then it looks like Bronte’s dreams have finally come true when dashing Sebastian Fairfax rescues her on his horse after she has an accident in the countryside around her idyllic little cottage. Sebastian is tall, dark, handsome, and heir to a massive country estate!

But is Sebastian the one? Or will Bronte’s romantic dreams of the perfect hero turn out to be as fictional as her novels? And will Bronte's temperamental cat ever stop getting in the way?!

My Thoughts:
Set in the english countryside this is a nice and relaxing read but not what I'd expected based on the books cheerful cover and description. This is a modern story but also pure old fashioned romance, full of amusing cliches, understated passion and uncomplicated by sex.

Whilst I normally prefer a more full bodied story, I did enjoy this. I liked the original twist and tie in to the Bronte sisters; Bronte herself, Mr Darcy her cat, the lord of the manor and the manor itself. The atmosphere is cosy and relaxed reminding me of Joanne Fluke's Hannah Swensen cosy murder mysteries series. The characters are also well developed for a book of this sort and the hero whilst hot not the stereotype macho.

The link to Brontes own book was good too with despite the parallels our heroine staying naively blind to her own desires.

Nice recommended as holiday reading for old fashioned romantics. Perfect for fans of Samantha Tonge, Lucy Diamond, Mandy Baggot and Catherine Ferguson.

(Review copy received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review)

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Publisher: Joffe Books romance and suspense novels; First romance books edition (17 July 2015)

No comments:

Post a Comment